General Discussion     Tech Questions     Parts & Services     Suggestions/Ideas     Help & Website Instructions     Blogs    

Truck & Transportation History

Home Search Tags

I guess I'm going to be a Truck Driver!

Posted By Jolly Tuesday, June 23, 2009 4:57 PM
Add to Favorites0
Jolly
 Posted Tuesday, June 23, 2009 4:57 PM
ATHS Member

ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)ATHS Member - (23,372 reputation)

Group: Forum User
Last Active: Sunday, September 14, 2014 10:25 AM
Posted 6/6/2009

Well there is not much in the way of mechanic work here, so I signed up for a refresher course in truck driving that starts Monday. I have been driving buses for the past 23 years, so no one will put me in a truck until I get some OTR driving in, which I cant get because no one will put me behind the wheel, or go to some training. I have only had a Class A CDL for what the past 25 years, that back to before CDLs. Why would I need a Class A to drive buses? Because I'm a mechanic and was authorized to operate the tow truck. But it blow the engine back in the 90s and never got fixed.

Anyway they say because I have been driven auto trans buses for the past 23 years they don't want to take a chance. So I have to spend $500 to get a three day course in truck driving, and if I don't cut the mustard then I can got two more days for $450 more, and if that don't do it then I have to take the three weeks at $3400!!! If I can't do it in three days I guess I don't belong behind the wheel of a big rig.

Posted 6/8/2009

Had my first day of driver training. got to drive this gem around the block.

Was not as bad as I thought i was going to be, I managed to keep the truck moving with out grinding the gears ti much, I have been behind an auto trans for too long.